Ashtanga Yoga Eight Limbs of Serenity

Created by Sri K. Pattabhi Josi, ashtanga yoga focuses on the eight limbos of yoga. Through a series of poses you will begin to create internal heat that will in turn purify or cleanse the muscles and organs. This form of yoga is more strategic and the poses must be learned in order for you to achieve complete internal pureness. The eight steps of ashtanga yoga include control, rules, poses, breathing, withdrawing sensory perceptions, concentration, mediation, and equilibrium. Successfully achieving these steps will result in a complete oneness and balance.

Ashtanga Yoga Poses Basics

The ashtanga yoga does contain yoga poses; however they are grouped into a series. Part of what makes ashtanga yoga poses stand out from others is that they are strategic and without the proper completion of one set of poses, it is likely that you are not going to successfully complete the next phase. Paying close attention in this class is important as you focus on new ways to move your body. The basics of all the poses are the salutation to the sun. Then you are to learn six standing poses that will serve as your foundation for the other poses throughout the class. Once you have received the basics you will move onto the four series of poses.

Yoga Chikitsa: Beginner

In the first series called yoga chikitsa or yoga therapy. During this process the instructor will seek to teach you how to realign your spine, detox your body, and build strength, flexibility, and stamina. Within this first series there are approximately 75 different poses ranging from sitting, standing, and stretching positions for relaxation. The first series tends to take approximately two hours to complete.

Nadi Shodana: Intermediate

In the second series also known as nadi shodana, you will be working on your nervous system. This ashtanga yoga class aims to clean your nervous system as well as increase its strength. This series will not be introduced in class until the instructor feels that you have mastered the first series. Like the beginning stage you will go through a series of poses that range from sitting, standing, and stretching. Though it is important to note that the poses in this series will be a bit more difficult and involved hence this is the intermediate stage.

Sthira Bhaga: Advanced parts A & B

It is debatable whether or not there are only two sections of the advance part of ashtanga yoga. It really just depends upon who your instructor is and when you were taught. Some forms of ashtanga yoga several different advance parts. In a nutshell the advanced series is really just bringing together the elements from the first series to the last. The moves will be more complicated and require practice and concentration.

Benefits of Ashtanga Yoga

Unlike other forms of yoga, Ashtanga yoga goes beyond simply uniting your mind, body, and soul. This form of yoga also focuses on physical strength and stamina. It allows for you to work on your body internally and externally at the same time. Performing the poses in this styleo f yoga will increase your flexibility and endurance. You will notice the strength in your muscles. Many women love this form of yoga because instead of leaving you with a body builder shape, you are left with a sleek and toned figure.

So if you’re looking for a way to get in shape and become in tune with your body then ashtanga yoga is ideal. It allows you to transform yourself in ways that you never thought possible. It is liked for its structure and the feeling of being in control. If you’re new to ashtanga yoga, you will need to find a class that is offered to beginners, as you need to learn the basics before you can move on to discover true inner and outer peace.

Recommended Ashtanga Yoga video.